Tianjin Updates

Tianjin wins eight 2018 State Preeminent Science and Technology Awards


Updated: 2019-01-10

Tianjin won eight scientific awards in the 2018 Highest Science and Technology Award held in Beijing on Jan 8.

These eight awards include one International Science and Technology Cooperation award, one National Natural Science award, and six National Scientific and Technological Progress awards, covering various fields such as equipment manufacturing, biomedicine, new materials and other fields.

The winning of the International Science and Technology Cooperation Award and the National Natural Science Award marked the city's remarkable achievements in implementing the innovation-driven development strategy and foreign science and technology cooperation.

Professor James Fraser Stuart of Tianjin University won the International Science and Technology Cooperation Award, making it the first time for someone from Tianjin to win the award.

Research by Chen Yongsheng from Nankai University on Organic and Carbon Nanomaterials for Energy Conversion and Storage was awarded the second prize of the National Natural Science award.

Key Technology of Concrete Impervious Wall for Ultra-deep and Complex Geological Conditions, led by Chief Engineer Zong Dunfeng of the State Hydropower Foundation Bureau, won the second prize for National Scientific and Technological Progress award.

Given annually each January since 2000, the award, also known as the State Preeminent Science and Technology Award, State Supreme Science and Technology Award, is the highest scientific award presented by the Chinese Academy of Sciences to scientists working in China.

Copyright ©  Tianjin Municipal Government. All rights reserved. Presented by China Daily